L’éducation et la formation en droit: Recontrez l'équipe

Retour

Ian Holloway, c.r. Président

Ian Holloway a été nommé doyen de l’École de droit de l’Université de Calgary le 1er juillet 2011. Auparavant, il a occupé la même fonction à l’Université Western Ontario et celle de doyen associé à l’Université nationale d’Australie. Il a aussi occupé des postes à Cambridge et à l’Université nationale de Singapour. Il est diplômé de l’Université Dalhousie, de l’Université de Californie à Berkeley et de l’Université nationale d’Australie.

Avant d’entamer sa carrière universitaire, Me Holloway a passé des années en pratique privée chez McInnes Cooper à Halifax, où il se spécialisait en droit du travail et droit de l’emploi. Il a aussi été auxiliaire juridique du juge en chef de la Cour fédérale du Canada. En 2003, M. Holloway a été élu membre de l’American Law Institute, un honneur dont à peine une poignée de Canadiens ont bénéficié.

Adam Dodek Membre de l'équipe

Adam Dodek est vice-doyen recherche et professeur agrégé à la Section de Common Law de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Diplômé de l'Université McGill, de l’Université de Harvard et de l’Université de Toronto, Adam était titulaire d'une bourse d'études Fulbright; il a été clerc à la Cour suprême d’Israël, à la Cour d’appel des États-Unis avant de rentrer ay pays pour être auxiliaire juridique de madame Claire L'Heureux-Dubé, juge à la Cour suprême du Canada.

Il a exercé le droit au sein du Groupe de droit public du cabinet Borden Ladner Gervais, s.e.n.c.r.l., s.r.l., à Toronto, jusqu’en 2003, avant d’entrer au service du ministère du Procureur général de l’Ontario. Il a pris ses fonctions à l’Université d’Ottawa en 2008. Adam est membre du Comité consultatif du juge en chef de l’Ontario sur le professionnalisme et membre fondateur de la Canadian Association for Legal Ethics.

Daniel Jutras Membre de l'équipe

Daniel est entré à la faculté de droit de l'Université de McGill en 1985 après un stage de clerc effectué auprès d’Antonio Lamer, juge en chef à la Cour suprême du Canada. Il est doyen de la Faculté de droit depuis mars 2010.

De 2002 à 2004, Daniel a pris congé de la faculté afin d’occuper les fonctions de secrétaire particulier auprès de la très honorable Beverley McLachlin, Juge en chef du Canada, en tant qu’adjoint exécutif juridique à la Cour suprême du Canada.

Diplômé de la Faculté de droit de Harvard, et de l’Université de Montréal, les enseignements et les recherches de Daniel portent sur le droit civil et sur le droit comparé. Son champ de compétence s’étend également au droit constitutionnel : il a été nommé par la Cour suprême du Canada, en 2013, afin d’agir en qualité d’amicus curiae dans le Renvoi relatif à la réforme du Sénat du Canada.

Stephanie Willson Membre de l'équipe

 

Stephanie Willson est chef des ressources professionnelles chez McCarthy Tétrault. Sa mission consiste à veiller à ce que les programmes de gestion des talents et des pratiques destinés aux juristes du cabinet soient hors pair. Elle a acquis une réputation de chef de file dans le recrutement de juristes, de la gestion des talents et du développement du leadership.

Me Willson détient un baccalauréat en psychologie et un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université Queen’s. Ses études supérieures étaient axées sur la gestion des ressources humaines et le développement organisationnel.

Me Willson est membre de The Law Firm Talent Management Roundtable, du Canadian Management Association, de la National Association for Law Placement  et du Professional Development Consortium. Elle a prégé au sous-comité sur la diversité au sein de la profession juridique de l’ABC, de 2003 à 2007, ainsi qu’au Catalyst’s advisory committee sur l’équilibre entre la vie professionnelle et la vie personnelle dans les cabinets juridiques canadiens, de 2004 à 2006.

Douglas D. Ferguson Membre de l'équipe

Doug Ferguson a passé 20 ans en pratique privée en tant qu’associé du cabinet de London (Ontario) Bitz, Szemenyei, Ferguson & MacKenzie (maintenant Szemenyei MacKenzie). Il a œuvré dans les domaines des litiges civils, des testaments et succession et du droit fiscal. Il a du reste agi comme avocat de la Couronne pour l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

En 2003, Doug est retourné à son alma mater, la Faculté de droit de Western, comme professeur auxiliaire et directeur des services juridiques communautaires.

Me Ferguson est membre actif de l’ABC et de l’ABO. En 2010, il a organisé la première conférence nationale pour les cliniques juridiques étudiantes canadiennes, et il a piloté la fondation de l’Association for Canadian Clinical Legal Education, dont il est le premier président. Il défend vigoureusement la nécessité d’une réforme de l’éducation juridique et le rôle des écoles de droit dans l’accès à la justice.

Norman Letalik Membre de l'équipe

Norm Letalik est directeur principal, Excellence professionnelle chez Borden Ladner Gervais. À ce titre, il est notamment responsable du recrutement, du mentorat, des évaluations de rendement, de la formation continue, de la gestion des connaissances et des activités de développement professionnel. Norm est un membre du College of Law Practice Management.

Me Letalik a été admis au Barreau de l’Ontario en 1989, et inscrit comme avocat en Angleterre et au Pays de Galles en 1998. Avant d’exercer le droit, il a été professeur de droit à l’Université Dalhousie (1980-1986) et à l’Université nationale de Singapour (1986-1988). Il est professeur auxiliaire à l’École de droit de l’Université de Toronto, où il donne des cours dans le cadre du programme de maîtrise professionnelle en droit.

Il exerce aujourd’hui dans les domaines de la responsabilité du fabricant, des recours collectifs, du droit maritime et du droit de la navigation. Il figure dans le répertoire Best Lawyers in Canada pour le droit de la responsabilité du fait du produit et dans le répertoire Lexpert pour le droit maritime et de la navigation.

 

 

Rani W. Wong Membre de l'équipe

Rani Wong, originaire d’Edmonton, a obtenu un B.A. (spécialisé) en économie à l’Université Queen’s et un LL.B/MBA à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Me Wong a exercé le droit des sociétés et des affaires, s’intéressant plus spécialement aux services financiers, auprès des plus grands cabinets juridiques nationaux au Canada, dont Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt, Stikeman Elliott et Bennett Jones, à Vancouver, Toronto et Calgary. Elle a aussi travaillé cinq ans au bureau de Singapour du cabinet Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy de New York; elle y représentait des multinationales et des institutions financières de partout en Asie.

Rani, qui fait aujourd’hui partie du cabinet Soby Boyden Lenz de Calgary, s’emploie à tirer parti de son expérience et de ses connaissances dans l’exercice du droit de la famille – sa passion et sa véritable vocation.

Elle est membre du conseil de direction de l’Association of Women Lawyers (AWL) et présidente du Comité de recrutement de l’Association. Me Wong est également présidente du programme de mentorat de l’AWL; c’est elle qui a élaboré le premier programme de mentorat pour les avocates à Calgary, en 2012-2013. Elle est membre actif du groupe de travail Retention of Women in Law, une initiative du Barreau de l’Alberta, qui élabore actuellement une série d’ateliers axés sur les compétences pour les juristes en Alberta.

 

Personnel

Sheila Redel
Directrice développement professionnel de l'ABC

Education and Training: Meet The Team

Back

Ian Holloway, Q.C Chair

Ian Holloway was appointed Dean of Law at the University of Calgary on July 1, 2011. Prior to this appointment, Ian was Dean of the Faculty of Law at the University of Western Ontario and associate Dean at the Australian National University. He has also held appointments at Cambridge and the National University of Singapore. He is a graduate of Dalhousie University, the University of California at Berkeley and the Australian National University.

Before beginning his academic career, Dean Holloway spent a number of years in private practice with McInnes Cooper in Halifax, where he focused on labour and employment law. He also served as the law clerk to the chief justice of the Federal Court of Canada. In 2003, Dean Holloway was elected to membership in the American Law Institute, an honour that is held by only a handful of Canadians.

Adam Dodek Team Member

Adam Dodek is Vice-Dean Research and Associate Professor in the Common Law Section at the University of Ottawa.

A graduate of McGill, Harvard and the University of Toronto, Adam was a Fulbright scholar who clerked for the Supreme Court of Israel and the U.S. Court of Appeals before returning to clerk for the Honourable Claire L’Heureux-Dubé at the Supreme Court of Canada.

He practised with the Public Law Working Group in Borden Ladner Gervais LLP’s Toronto office until 2003, when he joined the staff of Ontario’s Attorney General. He joined the University of Ottawa faculty in 2008.

Professor Dodek is a member of the Chief Justice of Ontario’s Advisory Committee on Professionalism and a founding member of the Canadian Association for Legal Ethics.

Daniel Jutras Team Member

Dean Jutras joined the Faculty of Law, McGill University in 1985 after clerking with Chief Justice Antonio Lamer at the Supreme Court of Canada.  He has been the Dean of the Faculty since March 2010.

From 2002 to 2004, Dean Jutras took leave from the faculty to act as personal secretary to the Chief Justice of Canada, the Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin, in the position of Executive Legal Officer of the Supreme Court of Canada.

A graduate of Harvard Law School, and of Université de Montréal, Dean Jutras' teaching and research interests are in civil law and comparative law. His expertise extends to constitutional law:  in 2013, he  was appointed by the Supreme Court of Canada to serve as amicus curiæ in the Reference on the Reform of the Senate of Canada.

Stephanie Willson Team Member

Stephanie Willson is McCarthy Tétrault’s Chief Professional Resources Officer. Her mandate is to ensure that talent management programs and practices for all of the firm’s lawyers are second to none. She has established herself as a leader in lawyer recruitment, talent management and leadership development.

Ms. Willson holds a BA in Psychology and LLB from Queen’s University. Later studies have focused on human resources management and organization development.

Ms. Willson is a member of The Law Firm Talent Management Roundtable, the Canadian Management Association, the National Association for Law Placement and the Professional Development Consortium. She was a member of the CBA’s sub-committee on Diversity in the Legal Profession from 2003-2007 as well as Catalyst’s advisory committee on work-life balance in Canadian law firms from 2004-2006.

Douglas D. Ferguson Team Member

Doug Ferguson spent 20 years in private practice as a partner with the London firm of Bitz, Szemenyei, Ferguson & MacKenzie (now Szemenyei MacKenzie).  His practice consisted of civil litigation, wills and estates, and tax law, including acting as a federal Crown for the Canada Revenue Agency.

In 2003, Mr. Ferguson returned to his alma mater, Western’s Faculty of Law, as Adjunct Professor and Director of Community Legal Services.

An active member of both the CBA and OBA, Mr. Ferguson in 2010 organized the first national conference for Canadian student legal clinics, and spearheaded the founding of the Association for Canadian Clinical Legal Education, where he serves as the inaugural president. He is outspoken on the need for reform of legal education, and on the role of law schools in access to justice.

Norman Letalik Team Member

As Borden Ladner Gervais’ Managing Director, Professional Excellence, Norm Letalik’s responsibilities include recruitment, mentoring, performance evaluations, continuing education, knowledge management and professional development activities.  Norm is a Fellow of the College of Law Practice Management.

Mr. Letalik was called to the bar of Ontario in 1989 and was added to the rolls as a solicitor in England and Wales in 1998. Before practising law, he was a law professor at Dalhousie University (1980-86) and the National University of Singapore (1986-88).  He is an adjunct professor at the University of Toronto Law School, where he lectures in the Global Professional LL.M. Program. 

He currently practices in the fields of product liability, class actions, maritime and shipping law. He is listed in Best Lawyers in Canada for product liability law and in Lexpert for maritime and shipping law.

 

Rani W. Wong Team Member

Born and raised in Edmonton, Rani Wong earned her B.A. (Honours) in Economics at Queen’s University and her joint LL.B. and M.B.A. from the University of British Columbia. Ms. Wong practiced corporate and commercial law with a focus on financial services with Canada’s top national law firms, including Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP, Stikeman Elliott LLP and Bennett Jones LLP, in Vancouver, Toronto and Calgary. She also practiced for five years with the New York law firm of Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy LLP in their Singapore office, acting for multinational corporations and financial institutions throughout Asia.

Now with Soby Boyden Lenz in Calgary, Ms. Wong is focused on bringing her wealth of experience and knowledge to her current practice in family law, her passion and true calling.

She is on the Executive Board of the Association of Women Lawyers and is the Membership Chair of the Association.  Ms. Wong is also the AWL Mentoring Program Chair, having developed the inaugural Mentoring Program for Women Lawyers in Calgary in 2012/2013.  She is an active member of the Retention of Women in Law working group, an initiative of the Law Society of Alberta, which is currently developing a series of Skills Workshops for lawyers in Calgary.

Staff

Sheila Redel
Director, Professional Development CBA